Pressure build-up in mason jars

mulga bill

G,day all, I have been storing some bud in Mason type jars now for about 4 months.I have been burping these jars once per week for about half an hour each time. The bud is quite dry, but pliable, it has a good colour and smell in the jar. I have 62% integra packs in the jars. Everything seems to be fine. BUT, we are now in summer here and where i am storing the jars ( dark closet ) the temperature has risen a few times up to around 25C. I opened the jars today and was surprised to find there was pressure build-up in the jars ! is this a problem ? what is causing this ? and how do i fix it ? Should i put the jars in the fridge ? This bud is my meds,i would not like to lose it. Mulga Bill.

You mentioned that the temperature has risen. If you place a lid on a bottle when it's (for example) 15°C, then heat it up to 25°C, you'll notice that the contents in the bottle (even if only air) are under increased pressure. Heat does this, that's why there are vents in pressure cookers.

Conversely, if you fill a bottle with water (leaving a bit of air space as per normal) at 25°C, then cool it down to within a degree or two of freezing, you might have trouble getting the lid off due to the negative pressure.

I'd generally only be concerned if the contents of your jars started offgassing when the temperature was stable. That, to me, would indicate the presence of microbial life.

Just my opinion, of course. As in all things in life, YMMV applies.