Soil Testers - How to pick the right one

So my question is exactly that, how to choose the right tester. I'm very new at this and have spent the last few days reading journals, posts and whatever else I felt would help in my grow. I've read many posts where people have been using testers for weeks before noticing it was an incorrect reading, specifically pH levels.
The tester I use is probably a cheap one but how would I know?
Soil Tester 3-in-1 [Updated Version] xrime Soil PH meter
full

What is the best way to tell if your meter is calibrated correctly? I'm assuming there are certain items, such as a lemon, that have a set pH level to compare against. It would be nice to see some models that people have had great success with and didn't break the bank while doing so. My plants are in the early stages of their life cycle and I would like to make sure they get everything they need. They are my babies after all.

What you have is a soil tester and, unless you have some soil that you know the PH of you can use to test accuracy, I don't believe there's a way to test or calibrate since that type of meter is only used for soil and cannot measure PH of liquids.

Most of the growers will have a PH Pen. Popular brands include BlueLab, Hannah, Oakton, etc The one I have (Hanna 98130) also measures EC, TDS & water temperature and has a replaceable probe. These are used to measure the PH (and EC, etc.) of liquids. The pens use a "calibration solution" that has a known PH you use to calibrate.

With soil, you would test the PH of the nutrient solution, then feed the plants enough to get some good run-off. Then, you test the PH of the run-off solution. The difference between the two measurements tells you what your soil is doing to the nutrients (either raising or lowering the PH), and from there, you can either adjust the nutrient solution or the soil PH to get the proper PH at run-off.

I hope that helps!

:Namaste:

K