Taking Cuttings? Help!

Okay, I have never taken any cuttings and all the tutorials here are about using rooting gels/hormones and rockwell cubes. I'm just worried about survival, not necessarily having the roots take place super fast, time is of the plenty. So i would like to know how you guys would take cuttings the cheapest way with high rate of survival. I have soil, perlite, botanicare power plant nutes, lights and a water spray to work with.

Can i just prep the soil or perlite in a cup, give it water with very small amount of veg nutes in it (a couple drops worth), and stick the cutting in there and keep it moist with plenty of lights?

or

Can i take the cutting, place it in a cup of filtered water with a couple drops of veg nutes and then keep her moist and under the lights until roots start to appear, then transfer her into a cup of moist soil??

or

Any other suggestions you guys can think of? Its my first time and I don't want to waste a cut if I don't have to :cool:

edit*--

after a little bit of reading/googling/browsing other forums, i think the easiest way is using the cup and water method, but id like your opinions

Hey xbox,
the key to get a high success rate/healthy clones while cloning is a higher humidity than normal...That is why you are supposed to place your cuttings under a humidity dome or anything plastic or transparent where it will still get good amounts of light...

And yes cut at 45 deg angle when its under water, then make an upwards incision from the bottom up about 1/2-3/4 inch, this will promote great root development

it doesnt really matter if you use root hormone or not, inever have and i can make a clone show roots in 2-3 days and will be alive and well with standing leaves on day 4 or 5... Most ppl takes them a week juat to show roots...but i will not be revealing my method of cloning

Lmao

i did drop by and show him love with more info than he already had, wouldnt that count as helping him