The Right Size Pot For Autos

Greenethumb42

This maybe a dumb question but what size pot should I use for auto's..this is my first time growing auto's so I don't know nothing about them just what I have heard..I heard that your sapossed to start them in there final home and not to transplant them...True or False

First, yes its true. Just be careful not to overwater. Easy to do until they get bigger. Lots grow autos in 3 to 3.5 gallon pots. I always go bigger. More room for roots = more results. Myself I wont go under 5 gal. Check out my5 auto growby clicking on my signature below. I just started 6 autos each in a 7 gallon but that may be overkill by most peoples standards..

Sent from my VS980 4G using 420 Magazine Mobile App

I don't do autos, so...
I's germinate in 1 gal and up-pot once to the largest size that fits your situation - up to about 7 gal..

I have my best luck with 3 gallon fabric pots. The 3's are small enough that I can still fit a lot of plants in the tent but big enough that the plant will thrive. Start them in the 3 gallon pots.

I'm only doing 2 auto's..1 will be Vision Seeds Blueberry Bliss and the other one is Female Seeds Northern Lights..so I want to get as much as I can..3 gal just doesn't seem big enough for me..I might try my luck with the 5 gal...or maybe do 1 in a 3 and the other in a 5 and see the diffrence

I would grow it in the biggest pot that my grow area and lights will accommodate, if the answer to those two things is 5 gallon then go 5 if you can get away with 7 and have the space and light, go 7. if yield is a big concern then by all means go as big as you can.

I wonder how an auto would do in a 200 gallon pot?

I would grow it in the biggest pot that my grow area and lights will accommodate, if the answer to those two things is 5 gallon then go 5 if you can get away with 7 and have the space and light, go 7. if yield is a big concern then by all means go as big as you can.