The Truth About LED Lights

Hey folks , I'm a newbie here at "420" and pretty much a newbie to cultivation . I just got my MMC and will now start growing after some major reading and planning . I'd like to do an inside grow to augment my O/D grow for when winter hits . I keep reading about LED's vs. HPS /SH . The price of a "true" LED system is "puckering" for my wallet since I live on a small fixed pension . What I can gather the lights on Amazon etc. are pretty much trash , yes ? I want to grow the legal amount (12 babies) in an area of 12' x 8' . What do you think would be a bare minimum of lighting I'd need for a good crop . I don't have my strains or a source decided upon yet . Being "stateside" and finding a secure source is daunting (I'd loose my pension for a federal charge) so I hope you can understand my position and possibly weigh in on my options . Thanks very much !

Since your posting in a LED thread I will suggest you look into MARS HYDRO LED"S and see if its a light for you.

Read up in some peoples Journals here on the site and see first hand what others are using.

For HPS lighting requirements for your space I suggest you Visit the Grow Journal of Dutty Panty here on the site , read his work and ask him questions if you want tips from a Pro with that lighting.

Thanks "Bud" . There is so much out here on lighting and conflicting opinions that it's hard for a "junior farmer" to get focused on what is right for a certain situation . After a few hours my eyes start bleeding , hands shake making it damn near impossible to spark a Bic Lighter . My intention is to skip HPS/MH for LED . Initial cost is a "dog" but savings and hopefully a good crop will offset that . I was reading on this thread early this AM and it turned into a "slinging" match . That was when I quit and posted here . So again thanks for replying . The Desert Rat ......