Topping at node 3

JKB1989

My son has done two really bad moves on my white widow grow. First when the first seed sprouted out of the dirt he was so excited. Waited four hours and then decided that the other seeds should be sprouted so he dug them up to look at them. I stopped him before he dug up the last seed. The three he dug up are all stunted and barely a half inch tall. Down to two good plants undamaged by him. I found out yesterday that he stopped those two plants at the third node and they were ten days old. Now there 13 days old and the two shoots per plant seem to be growing out ok.
This is my question. What long term damage has been done? What problems will this cause? As I'm just learning to grow myself and I lurk behind the scenes of this site.

Hiya JKB1989 They'll be fine, he did a good thing this time. The digging up I get because at 51 I'm still impatient! I pinch tops to start, maybe twice then supercrop. It seems like you can beat the crap out of them and they are pretty resilient. You might try adding some silica to your grow if your son likes to bend and play, I'm gonna add some to mine because I have tendancy to really be really mean to them myself. If you pop one node down you get 2 new full on shoots that will become kolas. If you go like on the 2nd node after letting it grow to 5 nodes tall, you get 4 shoots. Pretty interesting stuff. Just keep up with good PH of your soil, don't overdo the nutes to start bud work your way up to 100, get good watering habits (read The Proper Way To Water A Potted Plant ), hang out here of course and you will do great. Maybe start a journal, it'd be fun to follow the father/son interaction! CHeers mate, gl to your grow! :yahoo: