Crianza

Hi all, I'm about to begin growing a couple plants indoors. I mixed soil using FFOF, Happy Frog potting mix, about 20% perlite and worm castings. I've never used the soil before but everything I read says the soil will buffer the PH to the correct levels. The tap water I have is very hard with a ph of about 8.2. Do i need to add Ph down to the water or just add it and let the soil buffer it? Any help appreciated. I don't plan on growing much so probably wont spend the money on a RO system.

Hi all, I'm about to begin growing a couple plants indoors. I mixed soil using FFOF, Happy Frog potting mix, about 20% perlite and worm castings. I've never used the soil before but everything I read says the soil will buffer the PH to the correct levels. The tap water I have is very hard with a ph of about 8.2. Do i need to add Ph down to the water or just add it and let the soil buffer it? Any help appreciated. I don't plan on growing much so probably wont spend the money on a RO system.

An RO system, or reverse osmosis system will remove dissolved solids (sometimes good, sometimes bad) from ur water

On a total different note PH is a measurement of how acidic/alkaline(base) the solution is.

Get $10 EC meter from hydro shop to see how much shit in water.

For this part I don't grow in soil; I believe -
PH will have to be adjusted and monitored regularly as with any grow.

Spend the money for a PH pen and a PPM pen. You can get them on that big online store for about $25 for the pair. (You may already have the PH pen since you know your PH is 8.2). Like cnile says, the two are independent. My water is also about 8.2 PH out of the tap, and 190 PPM or .38 EC. Adding a RO system dropped the PPM to 10 to 90 PPM (depending on the age of the filters), but the PH still stayed at 8.2. I would still add PH down and not rely on your soil to do all the buffering. I shoot for a PH between 6.2 and 6.8 with my target 6.5.