What am I doing wrong?

sillyputty

Here's a run down of my system: Baby bloomer hydro system (ebb & flow), now in 12/12 budding stage; seeds from Nirvana. Three feedings (1 hr. each) during light cycle, one 1/2 hr. feeding during dark (to keep roots from drying).

Nutes: General hydroponics Maxigrow (10-5-14) during veg stage (16 on/8 off). GH Maxibloom (5-15-14) during budding. Change reservoir every 2 wks.

Temp: 75F - 80F with some 90F.
PH: 5.5 - 6.3
400W halide (new bulb)
TDS: approx. 700

As you can see, plants are spindly. What gets me is I used to grow great harvests (several ozs) with this exact setup years ago. Had to put it in storage and am trying again. Don't remember what nutes I used, but they were nothing fancy.

Thinking it could be my seeds, I ordered two strains from Nirvana (kush and bubblelicous), but got the same poor results with each.

Can't figure out what's going on...:helpsmilie:

I'm no expert...there are posts here on this site, about how to tie the plants down, LST (Low Stress Training)...it allows the light to penatrate...my first grows looked very much like yours'....also, what size pots?

Good luck...

I'm no expert...there are posts here on this site, about how to tie the plants down, LST (Low Stress Training)...it allows the light to penatrate...my first grows looked very much like yours'....also, what size pots?

I've tied them down before, but the bud produced was significantly more. Pots are standard 5 1/4" x 5 1/4" x 5 1/4".

How old is that bulb? You mentioned you had it stashed away for some time. Most people only like to run a bulb 2-4 runs.

Hey there Sillyputty -

First, welcome back to growing! :thumb:

A few things... They don't need to be fed for such extended periods. I run ebb style bucket systems and never flood more than 15 minutes. You really just need to flood long enough to fully submerge your roots. Too long and they could suffer oxygen deprivation (drowning the roots).