What causes clones to stretch but not branch?

NVJAY775

I'm a newbie for sure. Just finished my first indoor grow with some help from a buddy that has some experience.

We took some clones from the 6 strains I initially picked up. Purple Haze, Jack Herer, Pineapple Chunk, Sour D, Space Bomb and Green Crack. They went into rock wool clone cubes, than after almost 6 weeks, went into small soil pots. (we were both super busy and the little girls didn't get transplanted on schedule)

We used my buddies clone gell, which he decided may have sat too long and may have got hot in storage.

Initially they were under a t5 about 15" above them, with a 1000W MH about 3" above that (running at 75%), but to the side by about 5'. Room is not completely sealed, but is closed in and clean and getting air pulled in via fan filter from within the room. 18/6 light schedule. Temp is 72-74F, humidity is 30% to 60% depending on weather.

Watering them initially with PH'd water for the first 3 weeks, then 1/4 nutes "GH".

After about 5 weeks we moved them to an outdoor room that had the same humidity, but a little higher temps. 74F to 78F. But less light on the same 18/6 schedule. The light was about 36" above the plants.

But they started to stretch and drop lower leaves in the house before the move. Also they're not branching out on the bottom at all. They basically gain height with new growth and shed lower leaves. But are still super small for their age. And they also have small leaves only near the main stem, but they're clustered and tight. These occur only between the lower dying growth and the new upper growth.

And in their defense they had and are still having a rough childhood lol... I feel for the little ones ya know. They also went through me messing up as a newbie with PM, small mite breakout and some thrips. Like said, I do feel for their rough upbringing lol. I tried haha!