What Is Your Transplant Philosophy?

NACnCO

So, your baby needs a bigger bucket. How do you know? Do you decide to transplant based on the size of the plant vs the size of the bucket? Or is it all about the roots? Do you sneak a peak at your roots and decide from there?

I know a fellow grower who transplants, like, once a week in the grow room. I think that is WAY TOO MUCH. But he thinks the more soil the better. I tend to go the other direction. When they look root bound then that's the right time to transplant. However, both myself and the fellow I speak of are complete noobs and I wouldn't trust either of us.

How do you decide it's time for a bigger bucket and how do you decide how big of a bucket you should transplant to?

Pictures if you got any, please.

From seed or cutting intill roots develop it stays in a plug.

From plug to early veg i keep mine in a one litre pot, in good conditions can be transplanted 2 weeks later for final transplant of a larger sized pot, i use a 6 litre pot for final veg & flowering.

Different countrys have different measurement systems so the conversion from litre to gallons is a myth to me for soil containers at the moment, with pot size being more of a personal choice between growers & size of plant you choose to grow. :peace:

P.s - I check the roots to see if they are balling in bottom of pot.

Cuttings with a mixed stage of root developement about 2 weeks old in root roit plugs.
001770.JPG

About 18 days from seed in 1 litre pot, germinated in root roit plugs.
003724.JPG

About 38 days i think from seed in 6 litre air pot.
001753.JPG
002783.JPG

clones and seedlings I place in small 3" square pots until I see roots start to come out the bottom or they are showing a deficiency (typically start to yellow on the oldest leaves, this tells me the nutes in the soil are all used up, and it's time for a bigger pot. From here it's all about what my plan is.