Which LED?

Sdunny

420 Member
Hello all,

Like many others I’ve been sifting through LED lighting to try and find perfect setup for my tents.

The tents will be
2 5x5s going full cycle veg-flower
Or
1 5x9 full veg to flower with multiple lights

The lighting im trying to choose between

Timber Fatty vs :
Vero29 gen 7 COB lighting fixture
950 total wattage
PPF: 2100 micromol
PPFD: 905

Fluence Spyder 2p:
PPF : 1600
Watts : 650
Efficacy : 2.5

I’m somewhat new to LED lighting but I have the option to get 2 lights whether it be one of each or two of the same. It seems to me that the spydrs are much more efficient and can be placed very close to the plants and the timbers are stronger and further away?
Thoughts?

Thanks for quick reply, am I reading it right that the timber lights are stronger? Or is it just different because of how they expect you to setup the lights / distance from the plants ?
Not sure which is stronger. I'm saying the bars distribute the light better and more efficiently than cobs :)

Here is a link to a grow journal where the tent space is a bit bigger than yours (10x10, IIRC) where they are using HLG-600's.

Linked to a good starting post where the grow is being built.

Follow through it, and you'll see some explosive, awesome growth. Then there comes a time when a discovery is made... the lights are only running at 50%. They were dimmed down initially, and never bumped up. Harvest is just finishing up on the first round, and it was left at 50% power. Still waiting on the final dried total, but let's just say it's been a damn impressive grow for 50% power.

Just some food for thought.

I've seen some homebuilt COB setups running one per square feet @ 50 watts each that were... amazing.

I'm going to be trying out some new Red Spec. Quantum Boards for flowering light's next week for @BudgetLED
They're a new sponsor of 420 magazine.
Built in America
Quality Samsung diodes.
Built by growers for growers!

They come with a full 3 year warranty,