White spots on leaves: please help?

DubDutch

I'm having a problem (with SS Early Girl), which is driving me nuts.

earlygirl_whitespots_high2_.jpg

The (white) spots have structure early on but also has a sheen to it, catch it in certain angle of light and it shines! The leaf tends to keep structure but then lower leaves die off and the whole plant just does really poorly. New leaves come out, but get immediately affected by the white spots as well.

I'm a beginner and tried several organic remedies: tobacco juice (didn't do anything), canna cure (seemed to get worse. Just started spraying Neem oil 3 days ago. I spotted two Fungus Gnats and exterminated them. I don't see any larves. Now, I won't water them for 4 days and just spray the leaves (1 day neem, one day garlic water?).

Can anybody tell me if I'm on the right track? If only I knew what I am fighting against, I could use the proper remedy, instead of trial and error everything on the shelve. Thanks ! Check my plant (I adjusted the brightness/contrast to make the white spots come out)

earlygirl_whitespots_high_.jpg

Re: White spots on leaves, please help ?

have you looked underneath with a microscope? neem oil and some ladybug works for me but it don't look like mites to me.. good luck

Re: White spots on leaves, please help ?

It's possible that it is a lighting issue, how close are your lights and what kind are they?

Thanks for your replies...

I didn't try a microscope yet, but I did check with a magnifier. No tiny creatures.

I grow them outdoors on a balcony.

LOL,,,no such thing as white spots,,,look thur a 20x20.5mm Triplet Loupe 20x - LOUPE20205 - JTV.com®

and you will see a different color...

I didn't try a microscope yet, but I did check with a magnifier. No tiny creatures.

Bugs,bugs&more bugs coming...