Wood selection for enclosure

Lil Neutrino

Quick question...is there any reason NOT to use OSB board (wafer board) as opposed to MDF? I have lots of experience with MDF and I know it is a great material for such purposes but I'm wondering if I could get away with using OSB instead mainly because of the cost difference and budget. I know treated lumber has arsenic in it so I avoid that at all costs in any project I do aside from outdoor construction...but I'm not too educated on OSB's manufacturing process and if there are any potentially problematic chemicals involved. I'm thinking it would be ok as it uses glue as a binder just like MDF except MDF is made from a much finer lumber by-product. I want to avoid CDX ("regular" plywood as it can have many empty areas that can resonate or cause buzzing sounds) at all costs so I'm down to OSB or MDF. I don't have the tools right now to cut MDF myself and I know some stores are quite reluctant to cut it for you which is part of the reason I'm looking at OSB...and the cost factor.

Thanks!:thanks:

edit: What about pine? I can't think of any reason that pine would be a bad idea...

if you don't want buzzing sounds then you would want to go with MDF its the best for sound...

if sound is a factor i HIGHLY suggest MDF, but if cost is more of a factor then it really dosn't matter, just slap a coat of white primer over it and your good.

Thanks Hightide...I'm pretty familiar with MDF, I have used it a lot in the past for other projects. It is great stuff aside from being kind of hard on saw blades (the Home Depot where I used to live stopped cutting it for customers because of the blades they were going through). Buzzing is the main reason I am avoiding CDX (is that what you are thinking of by chance? The "regular" plywood) as it often has air gaps and poorly glued layers in some places. I have never actually used OSB for anything that would have had vibrations but it seems much sturdier and less prone to buzzing than CDX.