Cannabutter Questions

stevegrows

Hey guys so I just gave my first go at making cannabutter. Used a quarter with one stick of unsalted butter, and I simmered it for 3 and 1/2 hours. The marijuana was still quite green, and the water wasn't incredibly green. I'm not sure if it's done or not. There's definitely weed in the butter now, I can see that. But what color should the bud be after completion, or does it really matter.

My weed was well grinded and dank as fuck

I've been making cannabutterfor going on three years now, I find that making cookies with it is a sure fire sleep inducer.
In answer to your question I can only tell you how I do it and you can take it from there.
Quality trim and or buds is the first rule. No fan leaves or sticks. I put my trim and bud through a coffee grinder after they are comletely dry. Some people do a low temperature bake for about 20 min. or so to 'de-carbolize it' at this point. I don't bother, never seen it to help, myself.
In a large stock pot I put about a quart or so of water and bring it to a SLOW boil. I make up a pound at a time so I use one pound of butter. I then add 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 ounces of ground bud and stir it in. Simmer for around 30 min. to 1 hour. I have heard of people saying to go for 4 hours and others say 15 min. is all you need. I find that an hour is plenty. Remember you want the water simmering on a very slow boil ( water is moving but not bubbling if that makes any senc) Stir often.
I then use a 140 micron mesh to strain the resulting mix into a seperate bowl. Caution ITS HOT! I have used strainers and material from my wifes sewing stuff as strainers, its whatever works to get the leaf matter out. 140 micron seems to work for me, and I had some hanging around.