Edible potency

nixit

Hello all,

New to the forums, and I've been searching this for quite some time with no results.

I've been making cannabutter for a couple years with much success, and the cookies I make with it are pretty potent.

My usual recipe is:

1/4oz bud
1 stick of butter
1/2 cup water
a "lil dipper" crock pot for ~24 hours.

stirring and adding more water if the level goes down.

Now this has been working for quite some time, and I eat the edibles daily.

Now that the backstory is complete, here is where my question begins. Starting at the first of the year, I was food tested and found that I can no longer have grains, so cookies are off the table. I have tried using almond flour, flax meal, coconut flour, etc, but for some reason the effects are not as potent. I know these flours have higher fat content than tradition flours or even gluten free flours.

To determine what it could be, I also tried making the butter a different way. I tried the "double boiler" method by putting the herb and butter in a mason jar and submerging that in simmer/boiling water for up to 4 hours. The butter turns the nice shade of green, but when the edibles are made still don't get the effects I used to from traditional flours.

I then scrapped the flours and made black bean brownies with some cannabutter, once again, didn't feel much.

So this weekend, I brought out old reliable, the lil dipper, which has never let me down, so I made the butter old school method. Once the butter was strained and put in the fridge, I took a 1/2 teaspoon of cannabutter (amount equivalent to one of my cookies) and put it in my tea. So far so good, the tea tasted like cannabutter. Starting at about 45 minutes I felt a little something and that was it. No feeling like I was getting with the flour laced cookies.

I've been eating edibles daily for a few years, and the effects have been consistent up until I could no longer have grains.