Cannabis and increased heartbeat question

Cmoon

Hi,

I just want to throw this one out to you all, first because I am new to growing my own (I am in week 17 of my first grow and although it was a mess at first due to trying to grow too many plants in a tiny tent all is now OK and flowering/budding nicely) secondly because I have angina with narrowing of the arteries and hence an abnormally fast heartbeat. I should add that I don't smoke.

My question is fairly simple:- Does all cannabis increase your heart rate i.e. Sativa, Indica, high CBD, high THC etc.?

Use will be mainly for painkilling but I don't mind getting a bit of a high out of it too. I will be making tinctures at first and then rosin extraction when I can sort out a reasonably priced press.

Any help on this will be much appreciated as I've had enough of the crap poisons my quack throws at me thinking it solves the problem......It just don't!

Thanks to all

Respect, as always,

Cmoon :thumb:

Hey Cmoon -- I'm sorry to hear about the angina.

May I (as an older guy with health issues of his own...) suggest that you please ask not just an MD about this but an MD who is familiar with cannabis and its effects? I'm thinking a hippy cardiologist. ;)

Cannabis doesn't usually make my heart race (i.e. cause tachycardia), but sometimes (rarely) with a big dose, my heart really starts pounding for a while (and I don't smoke either--the last time it happened was after swallowing a big dose of cannabis infused coconut oil). That increasing of the heart rate seems like it could be a real issue for someone who already has tachycardia.

Here's a quote from an article on the website of the American College of Cardiology: