3 Dimensional THC Molecule

Smokin Moose

Fallen Cannabis Warrior & Ex Moderator
bgf_4_1201102232.gif

Here's another good model of our favorite molecule.

3D structure of d9-TetraHydroCannabinol.

It's interactive.

Funny there are only 3 different elements in THC, hydrogen, oxygen, and carbon.

C21 (in black) H30 (in white) O2 (in red).

Theres a benzene ring at the base of the molecule C6H6, and the carbons branch from there terminated by hydrogen atoms.

I'm getting a tattoo of the chemical structure on my forearm! i'm a chemist, so i can just say it's cuz of my love for chemistry! HAHAHAHAHA I LOVE WEED!

thats funky to imagine that the tip of that molecule is what actually lodges into tha thc receptors of your brain and gets your high

How is the THC molecule formed in a marijuana plant and how is it made synthetically? Could i incorporate this process into an ordinary fruit or berry (for cooking) with genetic modification?

The THC molecule along with around 66 other cannabinoids are just components of the resin that is formed within the head of the trichome (the bulbous tip). The tip itself doesn't plug into your brain's receptors, it's several orders of magnitude larger than the form of THC that causes the primary effect we all love so much.

Coloured-SEM.jpg

Ah i see, thank you. But is it possible to genetically modify the resin on a molecular scale into a new plant that would be of the same family like hops or hackberry trees or is that crazy talk?

To my knowledge, cannabis is the only type of plant that produces THC.

Many plants have trichomes and produce resins, they just don't contain cannabinoids (by definition).

These resins are both part of the plant's natural defense system and a means of capturing airborne pollen for propagation of the species.