DWC in fish tank?

CommonGuy

Hi everyone, I only knew about hydroponics for a few days, and I'm totally fond of aquaponics at first sight because I now have like 5 tanks full of fishes and all over 2 years old, so the biofilter should be no problem. But as a newbie I want to make sure to know things carefully before I get it to work.

So, I want to ask which kind of fish should I use DWC in? I have a goldfish tank, african cichlids tank, livebearer(guppies, mollies...) tank, tetra tank, and oscar tank. I actually prefer the goldfishes because they poop a lot = more nutrients but they're also a bunch of water pigs that devour anything and could harm the roots so what do you guys think?

Speaking as someone who kept fish for 30 years and has grown cannabis in soil, coco, and hydro, "aquaponics" sounds like a fun thing to do that could take a plant through to harvest, but other than being a fun stunt (nothing wrong with that), it seems like a waste of time to me.

I say that because growing cannabis requires time and effort to produce a good crop. Consequently, most people eventually end up trying to optimize their grow. They may start out thinking they'll just put a seed in some dirt and see what happens, or they'll just use whatever soil and fertilizer they have lying around, or the least expensive setup they can throw together--compact fluorescents from the hardware store, cheap home center potting soil, maybe a little Miracle Grow. Or use their aquarium as a source of food and fertilizer.

But the fact is that there is a huge range of outcomes possible depending on how you grow. Yes, a seed in dirt can grow to maturity, but for most people it will end up looking more like a weed than trophy winner. By investing just a little bit more for better soil and/or better fertilizer, results are much better. Then better lights--they make a huge difference.