DIY LED repair - Replacement photo tutorial

kelticBlue

Hi all
this is my first attempt at a DIY.
I needed to replace 4 lights on my reflector 96x5, blue ones. My tent got pretty hot last year and they may have suffered.
The manufacturer was kind enough to send me replacement ones.

Disclaimer:
This job will take a little mechanical aptitude but is not overly hard. But you need to solder the diode into the board. Practice safe working habits and take your time.
This may damage your light only attempt if you have a back up plan for lighting and are prepared to muck up your light. I am not suggesting you do this just documenting what i did. And I have not been a teacher in a very long time, any help is warmly received. I took me over 2 hours from light out of tent to back into tent.

So first a little about me. Once upon a time, about 30 years ago, I went to a technical school where they taught us to take apart and put back together lots of different things.
As such I once had a great set of tools not so much any more. So first i will give a look at some of the tools I used, not pictured is the arctic silver paste and a small handheld phillips-head screwdriver.
And I wish I had a better solder iron but this will do.

CIMG03731.jpg

Next have a look at the light in the tent, the 4 blue diodes with the arrows. those are our subjects.
CIMG03432.jpg

here is what the replacement diodes look like. If the positive and negative are not marked on side has a different attachment tab which I matched up with the diode I removed for proper polarity. So make a note of what the diode your remove looks like when attached.

in the package diodes and resistors
CIMG0365.jpg
back side of diode, positive side on right.
CIMG01582.jpg

negative side on left. this will be important later
CIMG01541.jpg

target diodes are circled
CIMG03611.jpg
CIMG03601.jpg

right so un-plug the electric and turn the switches off.