DIY TEST Project - DWC USN container conversion - CFL's - Bagseed - Under 60 dollars

Treblecleff

Hello All

This is my first attempt at DWC "bubbleponics". Total cost approx 680 zar (52 usd) - I figure if I build another unit it will cost less because certain things I bought like Leca, I could only find in 10 liter, and I only needed about 500ml leca - so if I was able to buy less leca, and less nutrients, it would have cost 15 dollars less)

Many years with not much research I tried outdoors soil grow, but I did not do much research, and it failed. But now that I discovered DWC systems, it's really stimulating my interest in growing again

I decided to test out all the research I have done, and info I gathered from you tube, free grow PDF's, free books, and I'm reading the grow bible for the 3rd time now, lol.

I came across many DIY ideas.
From using sandwich containers to germinate seeds, to making your own net cups, to using household vinegar to lower the PH of tap water.

Pics to follow

Re: DIY TEST Project — DWC USN container conversion — CFL's — Bagseed -under 60 dolla

DWC_PP_LABELS.jpg

Re: DIY TEST Project — DWC USN container conversion — CFL's — Bagseed -under 60 dolla

You might need to add lights as you go but yeah. You in jhb? Also is that a 40W osram bulb?

Hi. I am in CPT. yes, its a small 7 year old 40watt CFL(not sure how long it still has to live). I checked in the general stores, and I could not find a 40 watt bulb that small anywhere. That's why the light on the right is a LED 11 watt bulb. I bought/ordered 10 x 30 watt Corn shape LED COB B22 bulbs from Ebay... if all goes well, I should get it by end July.

For what I have read thus far... says I should have not less than 2500 lumens minimum per plant for good results (6 to 9 plants 45 000 is what should be aimed for). I am most def short of light... but the seed is still hatching... I will add some more light over the weekend.