NoobyMacDooby's 1st Time Noob Growers Journey - All The Gears But No Ideas - DIY

Hey there, so yet another 1st time grower here. Hoping to plot my progress for some help and feedback. As my username suggests I'm a complete noob grower when it comes to cannabis. I do have some low level gardening experience, mainly me watching my wife do stuff in the garden, but it's enough to keep a plant alive...for a while.

I've been a long time smoker and I clearly remember the 1st time I smoked good weed. A seemingly random night hanging out at the beach front when a mate showed up with White Rhino grown in hydroponics. The difference between smoking that and the random junky weed we smoked was almost life changing. Sadly for me actually getting more of it was near impossible and so the idea of growing my own became a dream of sorts. Fast Forward quite a few years and now I'm in a financial and hopefully legal place where I can actually attempt to do just that, recreate that special night of smoking not only good weed, but weed I grew myself.

As the title suggests I have invested in some equipment and I hope to keep adding to it as I progress, mostly in the light department and maybe a portable A.C. in summer. I got a bit carried away after deciding that it was time to start a grow. Started off with the idea of a cabinet grow and ended up in a small room.
But as far as growing cannabis plants go, I don't have any experience. There was that one time I grew a male plant in a smal pot, with crappy soil, bad light and over watering...total amount of experience in that department. So I've been watching videos, reading forums etc. and even studying plant biology in the hopes of becoming a decent grower. It's going to be a journey if anything. Also I'm based in South Africa so I am limited somewhat in the nutrient and additives department but hopefully I can find or make alternatives for the bits I can't buy.