Lessons Learned from a first time grower

I’m new to the “hobby” of growing MMJ and have done quite a bit of reading. The one thing I’ve found is the more I read, I realize I need to read more. Education is key to any endeavor and this one is no different. So, I’ve decided to compile a few of my lessons learned after completing two grows and am now in my third. I hope that this will help some new growers as they are working their way through the growing process.

1. Read—a lot: There are some great forums on this site that will provide you with the answers to most of the questions asked. Learn how to use the search tool for the forums and bookmark (or subscribe) to some of the sticky posts.

Some of the forums I’ve bookmarked and refer back to frequently are:
How to Grow Marijuana Everything You Need to Know
Plant Abuse Chart
How to Ask for Grow Support

2. Follow other Growers: Depending on the type of grow you are doing, someone has already done it—successfully. Look through the Grow Journals and find one that closely matches what you are trying to accomplish. I am using LEDs in a Hydro setup, so I follow journals using similar methods. Read the journal from page 1 through the end before asking questions of the grower or other contributors. Nothing is more frustrating than having to answer the same question multiple times because you were too lazy to do the reading.

3. Don’t fall in love with your setup: I have seen people argue vehemently that they have the BEST system ever. Of course if you have spent a lot of time and money on building your system you don’t want to admit that it’s not the best. Every system has its own merits and I have toyed with three variations of mine. I will continue to tinker and look for ways to simplify the system and increase yields.