3 gallon smart pots - How often should I be watering?

PurpleHaze22

I was doing every 4 days but that was to far between. I am currently doing every 72 hours but was wondering if that was underfeeding them? This is my first time growing and everyone always warns about overwatering plants. So i am trying to make sure i don't do that. But i also don't want to be underwatering them. Input, experience advice?

Hi PurpleHaze22.

As we are not familiar with your grow (i.e. plant size, heat/temp of room, air exchange and ambient humidity, etc..) an "every x days or hours" answer would probably not be accurate. I think the best advice anyone could give you would be to judge when to water by the wet vs. dry weight of the containers.

At some appropriate stage of growth, when the plants are not just seedlings, let the pots dry out completely. I mean like bone dry, leaves on the plant drooping kind of dry. Pick the pots up (or actually weigh them) and get a feel for the dry vs. wet weight.

It's good that your being cautious and heeding the overwatering warnings! As we all learn to dial in our individual grows, we'll have more success from underwatering than from overwatering. Eventually, we hope to find that "just right" goldilocks middle ground.

For comparison purposes, I've got some smallish plants in regular 1 gallon nursery containers. I'm struggling to get the humidity in the tent higher than 25 or 30% even running a humidifier, and I don't have to water more than once every week or so. Again, a lot of key pieces of info missing as you didn't mention how much your watering when you do, but my best guess is you might be just a tad heavy on water right now.

What were/are you seeing when going 4 days that leads you to believe that was too long?

Be well and happy growing!