Adding HPS light to a T5 grow

dieselskunk

My grow is starting to put out the white hairs now and forming buds on top. My light is a 4' ,4 bulb Ho T5 with 2 agrabrite grow and 2 agrabrite bloom. I have a 250W hps I can add. Will this help produce more tighter growth buds and more weight? I am thinking of hanging it 90 degrees to help the lower growth. I am growing on a 12/12 now and thinking of 6 or 8 hours of HPS to keep the electric bill lower. I am growing skunk#1 regular seed in soil, dyna grow bloom for nutes.

I saw the lighting forum to late, should have posted this over there.

As an engineer I used to work for used to say, "I guess we're going to have to take some measurements." You can get a cheap but adequate light meter at Amazon for about $15 that can really help with a questions like this. I have used mine a lot. Just a thought.

(I think as a rule the answer to the question, "Will adding more light give me better results?" is "Yes.")

I think it will help out a lot, 4' 4 tube T5 is only like 20,000 lumens. Plants want 40,000-50,000 to flower well, and so if you add your 250 W HPS that will probably be 20,000 more lumens, and you'll be right in the ballpark you want.

If you don't mind me asking though, is there a reason why you would rather not get a 400-600 W HPS? You'd have about the same power consumption, but more light since HPS is more efficient than fluorescent. I don't mean to sound critical, but I think at this point you should worry more about light output than the color spectrum.

As an engineer I used to work for used to say, "I guess we're going to have to take some measurements." You can get a cheap but adequate light meter at Amazon for about $15 that can really help with a questions like this. I have used mine a lot. Just a thought.

(I think as a rule the answer to the question, "Will adding more light give me better results?" is "Yes.")