New grower - LED light tips please

Canuckbuds

Hey everyone, first time posting and I have a lighting question. I'm an electrician and managed to salvage some LED lamps from a job I was on. They replace 400w MH lamps and draw 165w. My seedlings seem to be growing quite slow and I'm wondering if these lights don't put out the right light spectrum for plants.

They're the EX39 lamps on the second page if someone could provide input. I can convert back to MH lamps if I have to, was just trying to save in power consumption. Once the plants are bigger and going to convert one to a HPS.

I took a look. No reason those shouldn't work fine spectrum-wise. At 20,000 lumens each, if their light was spread out over one square meter (about 11 square feet) you'd need three of them to give you 60,000 lux for good flowering.

Thanks. I have two of them in an area about 8x7 feet. I can raise and lower the lights/plants accordingly. I'm on the lookout for more fixtures I can recover from work to make additional light.

So doing the additional arithmetic, your 56 square foot area is about 5 square meters, so with two, 20,000 lumen lamps, you have 40,000 lumens spread over 5 square meters, so you have 8,000 lux. You need at least five times that much for good vegetative growth. To answer your original question, that deficit would definitely cause slow growth. I would expect the plants to be spindly as well at 8,000 lux.

I envy you being able to get free lights, and those lights are good for 50,000 hours! You just need eight more of them to get a good vegetative illumination level (40,000 lux) for your big grow area and 13 more for good flowering illumination (60,000 lux).