What lights should I be using?

TheMonk

Hey everyone, I am new to growing, and was wondering what are the best lights to use? Currently I am using two 100w LED 1500 lumen light bulbs on just one plant, is that enough? Not enough? I'm not sure, the plant seems to be doing fine under them but we'll see. Any advice helps, thanks!

That's enough to keep the plant alive, but to thrive and give big harvests, you're going to want more light. The plant will "do fine" under a small light until it outgrows it, then it will become spindly.

Just for reference, here's a 16" tall dwarf that has 10 CFLs and LED light bulbs on it. (It did well.)

2017-05-24_Day_65_1130_001.JPG

The more the better ! I have done well getting 3 plants to 4 weeks using a 300w LED and a 130w CFL light. I have another 450w LED ordered to boost the lighting as the flowering starts (they are Autos). As Scientific says, basically, the more light the better.

The more the better ! I have done well getting 3 plants to 4 weeks using a 300w LED and a 130w CFL light. I have another 450w LED ordered to boost the lighting as the flowering starts (they are Autos). As Scientific says, basically, the more light the better.

You have a decision to make: Add more household bulbs or jump in and buy a purpose-built grow light.

If have a bunch of desk lamps and work lights and such around the house that you can put into service with LED light bulbs(recommended) or CFLs, that will definitely work (that's what I did in the photo of what Canada Guy called my "ghetto ass setup" above, and it worked fine).

But if you plan to do this more than once and don't mind making a one-time investment of $100US or more, they buying a 450 watt light (or even a 600 watt) as wounded knee suggested would be the best bet. And you can still use your other lights with the LED lamp. The more the better!