Paper towel method vs Jiffy's

lovesto420

420 Member
I've been starting from seeds for a few years now and have found while the paper towel does work I find it incredibly tedious. Especially if your starting a good number of them.

Has anyone just tried just going to a standard 1" Jiffy puck after a 24 hour soak? I been thinking about any reason why it would give a less success rate and the only reason I can think of is you can't see the tap root grow out. For warranty purposes I figure.

I just want to soak, go straight to jiffy on a seedling mat. Why could possibly go wrong?

What you think?

I soak for 12-24 hours. A lot of the time they've already cracked after that. If there's a little root already you can skip the paper towel tbh. A lot of people like it just because you get a bit more tap root. I go from the water to damp paper towel in a plastic baggy in a warm dark place for another 12-24 hours. By that time there's usually a bit of tap root and into jiffy pellets they go :). Works for me 99% of the time. Here's a shot one day after going into the pellet.

420-magazine-mobile1698659789.jpg

I've been starting from seeds for a few years now and have found while the paper towel does work I find it incredibly tedious. Especially if your starting a good number of them.

Has anyone just tried just going to a standard 1" Jiffy puck after a 24 hour soak? I been thinking about any reason why it would give a less success rate and the only reason I can think of is you can't see the tap root grow out. For warranty purposes I figure.

I just want to soak, go straight to jiffy on a seedling mat. Why could possibly go wrong?

What you think?

Hi lovestosploog.
I use jiffy pellets all the time, have done for over a decade.
I soak the seed for 24 hours then into the jiffy. I place the jiffy into a heated probogator with the vents shut. After three days voilà, when I see leaves I open the vents.