Two Feeding Questions

Is there any methods or tools to measure the nutrient levels that are in soil?

Does anyone know how long a plant takes to utilize all the 'food' in a cuft of soil?

Ppm meter?

Ppm meter?

A PPM meter is one great tool and a pH pen is another.

Google "soil test kit." I'm thinking in particular of the Rapitest Soil Test Kit that sells for about $15 at garden stores and has separate tests for nitrogen, phosphorous, potassium, and pH.

I have never used one before, but it looks like you add some soil to a little clear plastic container, add some drops or powder, and you get a color for a result. I have a new vegetable garden patch that I'm going to start working in the spring and I will definitely be using one of those kits then.

Does anyone know how long a plant takes to utilize all the 'food' in a cuft of soil?

How rich is the soil to begin with? How hungry is the plant that's growing on it? Too many unknowns in most cases to say, but of course every crop is going to deplete the soil that much more.

:thanks:

Ill research this. Would the same tool measure in water dissolved solids by chance?

Yup when I run my tap water through coco to flush it it reads 1200 ppm. My tap is only 150 ish. So this tells me there is a lot of nutrients salts etc in coco . Also tap water calling your township to see if they have water specs is good to . Not necessary but a thought ,

A PPM meter is one great tool and a pH pen is another.

Google "soil test kit." I'm thinking in particular of the Rapitest Soil Test Kit that sells for about $15 at garden stores and has separate tests for nitrogen, phosphorous, potassium, and pH.

I have never used one before, but it looks like you add some soil to a little clear plastic container, add some drops or powder, and you get a color for a result. I have a new vegetable garden patch that I'm going to start working in the spring and I will definitely be using one of those kits then.

:thanks: