Do those Surfactants work w/nutes & foliers?

BlackThumb

Just wondering if those surfactants I see at the hydro shop have any value added. Are they worth the time/money?

They can be, depending on the nutrient being used. Take sea tea and fish emulsion, they have natural surfactants.
A surfactant stops water with ferts from beading on the surface of the leaf. Much like rain water on a polished car - the car wax prevents the water from touching the paint, but if you add a surfactant, such as a detergent, it will wet the paint, not bead.

In my opinion, for the novice growing in soil using organic nutrients... in a word "no". The money you save can be better spent on other aspects of your grow.

Thanks Roo, what about Hydro? I am new to growing and historically my thumb has been much darker than green, hench the site handle. If I germ 2 seeds, 1 goes to rockwool for hydro and the other to soil. I am trying to hedge my bets as best as possible as I appear able to kill either equally well. With that in mind, would it help me do that? I used a friends folier the other day and saw it bead up right away on my leafs. Freaked me out and I instantly wiped it off with tissue since they looked like little magnifier lenses under the MH and have read enough here to not burn a hole in my leafs. Thats what got me to reading the bottles at the shop yesterday. I wanted to get some of that stuff S.Moose likes so well, the Maxicrop seaweed stuff, but they did not have it and I won't use my friends again. Guess I'll have to mail order some since it appears to have inherent surfactant. Thanks for your input man, I appreciate it.

For the novice grower, soil is the way to go. Smokin Moose will tell you K.I.S.S. and it is a great philosophy.