Help with light please

av8ersteve

Hello all. First post here, and looking for advice. I have been growing for a few years now with an older Metal Halide and HPS system (both separate systems) and now my HPS ballast has quit. I have two Blue Dream girls in veg right now under two 400 watt MH systems side by side (800 watt light distribution) and am going to need an HPS pretty soon. With all the new tech out there I have been kinda left behind. Can someone help me choose a good HPS? I see now the digital ballasts and am just needing advice. Would like to stay around the 600 watt range. I have never used LCD's and have grown MASSIVE bud in the past without LCD but would consider switching. The Duo Lux 600 looks AWESOME but damn, the PRICE. Any suggestions before I purchase would be helpful. If my HPS ballast hadn't stopped working, I wouldn't even be asking, but, here we are. Thanks everyone.

My .02 as someone who has been shopping and reading:

LED technology is advancing at an amazing pace, and my guess is that it will almost certainly replace gas discharge tubes within five years or so.

For the moment, though, it looks like HID still gives the best bang for the buck if you can live with the heat and the electric bill.

A digital ballast can do more than an old-fashioned "magnetic" ballast, like dimming and powering different bulb types. (However that may not matter to you.) Having done a lot of electronic work, the one thing that I would definitely advise is to avoid a cheap digital ballast. Manufacturers can keep the price of a device down by using lower quality components, but failure rates are higher, both at the beginning ("infant mortality") and as the device ages. It sounds like you have been at this for a while and will continue, so the extra cost of a better quality unit would amortize out. Plus HID is what you know and you seem happy with it.