How much is too much?

HayStack

Since moving to a 4x4 tent. I'm trying to figure out what the best lighting would be. At first I had two LED's. One is a GlaxyHydro 300 watt and the other is a ViparSpectra PAR 600 watt. They were in the center of the tent. The GalxyHydro in the front and the ViparSpectra in the back. The only problem with the two lights, was that it seemed a bit dim on the outer edges of the tent. So, I just added a KingPlus 1000 watt on the left side and pushed the other two a little to the right. I doubt that any of the lights I have put out the true stated wattage. But all together they come to 1900 watts. But there seems to be no more dim areas at the edges.

Is this overkill and will I just end up burning the plants? To me it doesn't look too bright. But I'm still new at this and really don't want to end up with a couple of dead plants.

Whadaya think?
20180111_200238_1_.jpg

Hi HS -- As you probably know, the wattage on the box is the maximum rated wattage of the LEDs. The specifications or the Amazon page usually has the actual watts used or amps drawn somewhere, and it's usually about half the number on the box.

So figure your "1900 watt" setup is actually half that, 950 watts. Even though purists hate it, watts per foot is a good starting point for calculations. 950 watts over 16 square feet gives 60 watts per square foot, which sounds great. Sweet Sue just completed a grow in a 2x2 tent with an LED Grow light that used 85 actual watts and got acceptable results with just 1/3 that many watts per foot.