Defoliation - Where do you stand?

pete2

I'm for it ! Way back when I would cut all the fan leaves about every 10 to 15 days. That allows the lower parts of the plant to get sunshine that it deserves and gives the plant time to recover. I couldn't compare it gram to gram, but it seems to me that I was getting a better harvest than the others I knew that wouldn't use defoliation.
So that is my thoughts, what are yours?:tokin::tokin:

PS. I thought I opened this thread in the Grows forum, Don't know why it is here

Total newb who said he wouldn't, but did. I cut them as they lost luster, blocked buds, died off, and in the end I think it helped my plants fend off mildew and mold. Plus it made them look awesome and hopefully will lessen the labor of harvesting.

I've done the test on a few grows, didn't touch on a couple of grows and stripped on a couple. Results, stripping gave me a better yield. Now for the na Sayers, I have 2 small rooms, 1300 long X 700 wide (cm) 3 lady's in each room. I do it to let more light through. The times I've tested not touching, everything under the fan leaves was thrown out. I grow in coco, 600wt HPs. I would guess another 2 - 3 ounces with defoliating. My 2 cents. Cheers.

I take them off as well! Others will say dont do it as they feed the plant. However, if im giving expensive nutrients to the plant from the early stages of growth, its totally fine to remove them. For an inside grow you just about have to remove them otherwise around 40% of the plant wont receive the light it needs to produce flowers later. Regardless of the lights you use for an indoor grow one thing will never change. That being that there are NO LIGHTS AS GOOD OR BRIGHTER THAN THE SUN! So in an outdoor grow I dont remove them but inside by all means remove them especially if youre feeding them good nutrients, now grow on out of here, LOL.