MN: Hastings Farmers - Grants, Regulation Shifts Crucial To Success

Ron Strider

A Hastings farmer known for trailblazing Minnesota's industrial hemp industry is urging lawmakers to lift some limitations on how his crop can be used and marketed.

Towers of spindly, green leaves swayed gently in the breeze as researchers, hemp industry stakeholders and members of the Minnesota House Agriculture Committees enjoyed an entirely hemp-fueled breakfast on John Strohfus' industrial hemp field Friday, Aug. 11.

From the muffins and banana bread to the coffee, each item on the spread included ingredients produced from hemp just like the crops from the Strohfus' field.

Strohfus, a hay farmer and horse breeder by trade, planted his first hemp crop last year when Minnesota implemented a hemp pilot project outlined by the 2014 federal farm bill.

The crop, which resembles marijuana but lacks the intoxicating components, can be processed into a variety of food and health products.

What Strohfus' crop produces has gained interest from retailers like Whole Foods– hemp hearts are a popular topping for salads and cereals, while hemp oil can be used in salad dressings – but state regulations limit how farmers can market other products.

Strohfus said he feeds his cattle hemp meal, a byproduct of cold-press hemp oil he said contains an abundance of proteins and nutrients.

Although the law permits Strohfus to market "hemp steak," commercial sale of the product has yet to gain legal footing.

"We can't market to Land O' Lakes, who I've been basically all but lighting myself on fire outside their door and jumping up and down to say, 'I need you guys to be interested in this because you're a leader in the industry,'" Strohfus said.

Strohfus also said he encouraged legislation that would shift cannabidiol from a Schedule I classification, requiring a prescription, to a nutraceutical on par with dietary supplements.