Testimony of Terry Jacobs to FDA - why he prefers for medical marijuana to Marinol

Julie Gardener

Testimony of Terry Jacobs to FDA - why he prefers for medical marijuana to Marinol​

2005N-0479
International Drug Scheduling; Convention on Psychotropic Substances;
Single Convention on Narcotic Drugs; Butorphanol; Delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (Dronabinol); Gamma-Hydroxybutyric Acid; Ketamine;
FDA Comment Number : EC2Hi!

Date & Time: 12/19/2005 01: 12:39

I am commenting on the medication most commonly called Marinol. For myself I use it to help me with the nausea I get real bad. I have Hepatitis C I contracted while I was a Medical Laboratory Technician. I contracted the disease it seems from a past needle stick. I now am disabled due to the many complications I have from this insidious disease. I also now have advancing cirrhosis from the Hepatitis C and am starting to have complications begining like an enlarged spleen. One of the problems I have besides bad fatigue is I deal with nausea. I have tried the whole list of current medications for nausea and none work affectively or I have even worse side effects from them also. The best antinausea medicine we have found that works the best has been Marinol. I can take up to 5mg 3 times a day. It even worked best after I had my first colonoscopy this past year. In the hospital all they could give me was Zofran which is touted as the best. It did nothing for my nausea. When I finally got home I took one 5mg of Marinol and later the nausea dissappeared. However with Marinol the side effects seem to vary. At times it does have a heavy sedation to it and the worst thing for me is that it usually takes up to 1 hour or more to start taking effect. This makes for a misearable time till the medication starts working. I understand Marinol is being worked into a sprayable form that will take effect a lot quicker and I strongly urge the research and speedy ok for it to hit the market. This will help soooo much with quickly handl