New to Forum with my first grow!

phatz06

Hey guys! Happy to be a new member and I'm new to growing, so I'll be looking for help here and there.

This is my first grow, and I'm using two 5gallon buckets (black), Hydrofarm Wide Lip Bucket Baskets, and a clay pellet medium.
I'm using foxfarms nutes...thus far only using BigBloom and GrowBig Hydro because I'm still early in the grow.

• Apollo Horticulture 48"x48"x80" Mylar Hydroponic Grow Tent
  • iPower Light Digital Dimmable HPS MH Grow Light System for Plants with XL Air Cooled Tube (2-in-1 Extra Large Wing) Set, 1000-Watt
  • Active Aqua Commercial Air Pump, 6 Outlets, 20W, 45 L/min
  • 4-Inch Air Stone Disc Bubble Diffuser
  • BlueLab Combo Meter

Currently lamp is lit for 20 hours/day at 75%.

I've got two questions currently.

1. pH needs to be adjusted daily, I'm using distilled white wine vinegar. Add about 20ml at night when its 6.9 to bring it to 6.0. The next day it returns to 6.9 and I repeat. I saw somewhere else in the forum that this isn't the right way to control pH.

2. Measuring EC/PPM. I use roughly half the nutrients that are being suggested on the fox farms nutrient schedule, but these numbers are measuring a lot higher than the same schedule shows they should be at. I was using ppm more since I felt I could see an up or downswing more easily, but the measurement is not stable. With each tick/measurement, it could swing 300-400ppm. I make the measurements by throwing the probe into the bucket so its in with the bubbles...could those be interfering? Should I pull water out of the bucket and then measure it?

Thanks in advance...

My ppm also fluctuate when checked in the air bubbles so I check where the bubbles are lowest as also a lot easer to read still water sometimes I also just remove it and check O no vinegar works but doesn't hold the ph where u need it just get some ph down from general hydroponic off eBay it's really cheap ad it's stable

Sent from my iPhone using 420 Magazine Mobile App