Need a good UK soil source

Blacechan

Hey 420,
i have been looking all over this site and have found some fantastic info and i want to thank everyone on this site its truly amazing.
Im on my way to starting my grow, but i'm having trouble with the soil.
This is my first grow so i am a newbie, but my main problem is i dont really know any of the brands of soil and nutes that people are talking about because i'm in the UK and you cant get most of them over here.
if anyone from the UK is here and knows what is good and can explain what exactly i need that would help me great deal.

Thanks

Blace

cheers,
well seeing as this is my first time grow im not 100% on what i need, i know i need soil which contains nutrients but there are loads of people talking about all these different kind of mixes and soils i'm just not sure if i can go to a shop like Homebase and just buy some stuff there that has all i need inside,
or do i have to make my own mix?
i have everything else ready to go but i cant get my head around the grow medium.
Thanks

:welcome:
Hey dude, if you have any trouble procuring the big-name soils that Dean recommended, I've always done well with standard multi-purpose garden compost from the local garden centre, usually about a fiver for 60ltr bags (3 for £10 if you're lucky). I avoid anything that says 'added feed/fertiliser' as compost has enough nutrients for a good month or so anyway.
To help with water drainage you can stick an inch or two of small stones in the bottom of your pots (again from the garden centre, they might be 'dusty' so give them a good hosing down first!), and if you find a bag of Perlite you can mix that directly into the soil. If not then mixing a small handful of your stones into the soil will help a little, but use them sparingly as they'll take up root space.
Hope this helps!