SANTA ANA -- Orange County Sheriff Mike Carona has rejected a plea by local
patients to uphold California's four year old medical marijuana law.
According to a published report in the Los Angeles Times, "The sheriff has
said he will not alter department policy, which does not recognize the right
to use marijuana under Proposition 215, because federal law bans marijuana
cultivation and use."

Steve Kubby, National Director of the American Medical Marijuana Association
said he was disappointed in the Sheriff's decision, but that his
organization intends to continue lawfully asserting their right to grow and
possess medical marijuana in Orange County under the Compassionate Use Act.
Kubby urged any bona fide patients who are being harassed by O.C. officials
to file a complaint with the O.C. Grand Jury, which has agreed to review
such complaints.

"Sheriff Carona is a good man who is getting bad advice. As a result, he is
violating the Compassionate Use Act and the California Constitution, article
3, section 3.5 which clearly states that federal law does NOT supercede
state law unless an appellate court rules so. Sheriff Carona is also
violating the 9th and 10th amendments of the U.S. Constitution which says
that the rights and powers not specifically given by the Constitution to the
Federal Government goes to the State and the People," argued Kubby.


CONTACT:
Steve Kubby, AMMA National Director
(530) 386-0777 (working media only, please)

NATIONAL DIRECTOR:
--Steve Kubby <steve@kubby.org>

STATE DIRECTORS:
--CALIFORNIA: Anna Boyce R.N. <ATBoyceRN@cs.com>
--HAWAI'I: Roger Christie <pakaloha@gte.net>
--OREGON: Arthur Livermore <alive@pacifier.com>
--NEW MEXICO: Bryan Krumm <krummb@unm.edu>
--VERMONT: Robert Melamede <rmelamed@zoo.uvm.edu>


MEDICAL ADVISORY BOARD:
--Tod H. Mikuriya M.D.
--Anna Boyce R.N.
--Jay R. Cavanaugh, Ph.D.
--John Beresford M.D.

COMMUNICATIONS DIRECTOR:
--Rick Root

DIRECTOR OF VOLUNTEERS:
--Richard E. Pearl, Sr., Ed.D. <rpearl1@hotcom.net>,

REGIONAL DIRECTORS
--Andy Kinnon <andyshellk@sprynet.com>
--David Jack, <jacks@goldrush.com>

CALIFORNIA COUNTY DIRECTORS:
--ALAMEDA: Jeff Jones <jeffj@rxcbc.org>
--CALAVERAS: Sue Garner <garner@goldrush.com>
--EL DORADO: Dale Schafer <cannabisdr@prodigy.net>
--FRESNO: Jonathan Richter <jonrichter@email.msn.com>
--HUMBOLDT: Eric Heimstadt <child@northcoast.com>
--LOS ANGELES: Jay R. Cavanaugh, Ph.D.
--MADERA: Jonathan Ira Zwickel <jonathanira@thegrid.net>
--MARIN: Rev. Lynnette Shaw <revshaw@hotmail.com>
--MENDOCINO: John Stahl <tree@tree.org>
--NEVADA: Carrie Becker <solarquest@jps.net>
--ORANGE: Doug Scribner <doug@123abc.net>
--PLACER: Steve Kubby <steve@kubby.org>
--SAN DIEGO: Dennis Triglia <dtriglia@home.com>
--SAN JOAQUIN: Marty Kell <MKELLMEG@aol.com>
--SAN LUIS OBISPO: Jo-D and Tom-E Dunbar <dunbar@thegrid.net>
--SANTA CLARA: Randy Moore <MJlawRandyMoore@aol.com>
--SHASTA: Kim Levin <shapatall@hotmail.com>
--SISKIYOU: Stephen Fisher <spiderman@sisqtel.net>
--SONOMA: Robert Schmidt <pamela.grandy@gateway.net>
--STANISLAUS: Kenneth Moore <moores@ix.netcom.com>
--TEHAMA: Chris Ward <abes@cwnet.com
--TUOLUMNE: Christopher DeMars <debjane@sonnet.com>