First Indoor Grow With Mars II 1200W & The McGrow

timhdr

I wanted to start a log here for this grow which will be my first INDOOR grow. I have been growing for a few years outdoors. My aim for this setup is to be able to continue to grow throughout the cold new england winter and to also have the ability to flower clones that I take from my outdoor plants independently from the summer crop.

Equipment/Enviroment:
20170307_214325.jpg

I chose to go with a Secret Jardin DS120 4x4x6 tent. Im fairly happy with the quality of the tent. The zipper sticks sometimes and the metal rods could be thicker, but I was constrained to very few options due to the height of the room it is in. Decent tent for the Money. In this tent I have a Mars II 1200w LED, supplemented by 150w equivalent (39w actual) CFLs on a Y socket. These are mostly there as another source of light so I can shut the LED off when i work in the tent to avoid damaging my eyes.
20170307_214330.jpg

I'm using a 120v control panel that I constructed to operate the equipment. It utilizes separate 15A circuits to control timed lighting and temperature controlled ventilation. I hope to add a humidistat to this soon to control the humidity. I am using an Inkbird temperature controller with my 400 cfm exhaust fan wired to the cooling teminals.
20170307_214349.jpg

Pretty much as my led runs and generates heat the temperature of the tent will climb to about 85 degrees. As it reaches this setpoint, the controller send power to the cooling terminals and the inline fan turns on and runs until it sees the temperature is satisfied. Currently with the cooler air from outside, I am able to cool my tent about 8 degrees in about 25 seconds. The fan only runs for about 15 seconds and it takes the tent between 3-5 minutes to heat back up to 85 and start the cycle again. I can monitor the power consumption per circuit through two digital Volt Amp Watt metering displays.

Soil/Seeds/Nutes