New Grower! - 5 Gallon DWC - 184W CFL - Mystery Strain - 2014

Khraevyn

Hello 420!!!:Namaste:

This is my first attempt at growing and I am starting with just a single bucket hydro setup. I am trying to keep this grow as cost efficient as possible so I am starting small and trying to keep it very simple.

I purchased a DWC kit from a local grow shop for $30 and it contained the following:

5 gallon black bucket with 6" net pot lid
3/4" 90 degree plug with rubber seal
12" Blue hose to use for level indicator
44GPH pump with plenty of hose and 4" Cylinder stone
clay pebbles for grow medium

I also picked up some General Hydroponics 3-step nutrients. I got 1 Liter of the FloraMicro, FloraGro, and FloraBloom. It came with a feeding and dosage guide. I got all three bottles for around $40. Not planning on using any other supplements.

I grabbed some Ph strips to keep a handle on Ph levels. I know low tech, but I've maintained turtles, fish, pools, and restaurants so I think I may be ahead of the game there. Still will keep a close eye on it. Plan on using baking soda and vinegar to correct any imbalances. Haven't seen anything about how this would affect the nutrients so any advice there would be great.

My grow space is going to be a closet that measures 4 feet x 4 feet x 7 1/2 feet. I will be prepping that over the weekend. Initially it will be pretty basic, but if this grow goes well, there is room for additional plants and customized storage as well. I will wrap it in Mylar and since it is mostly dark in that room already, I won't have to do as much light proofing.