New California Laws - Good/Bad/Ugly?

mottzerella

Newbie here - just working on setting up my first grow, and then WHAM Governor Brown drops this legal bomb in October that lays out a whole new set of rules governing the cultivation, distribution, and sale of MMJ statewide to take affect starting Jan 1 2016.

The new CA laws

While I'm not an experienced grower, as someone with an inherent distaste for government bureaucracy I have somewhat mixed feelings about these new regulations.

For the TL;DR folks:

1) There is a whole new set of licenses that can be obtained that cover everything from various types of cultivation, testing, mfg of tinctures/edibles etc., transportation, and dispensaries.

2) The laws create a new entity called "distributors" which are not clarified much but my political sense tells me that this is one of those places where the government will insert it's shitty spike of inefficiency

3) New tax >_<

4) Licenses are not restricted to patients

5) Laws start on 1/1/16, but any entities operating under the old paradigm are allowed to continue their operations until 2018 pending the approval of their license.

If you are a MMJ patient in CA, I HIGHLY recommend that you read these new laws because they will have a direct impact on all of us. But more importantly, I want to know - what do you all think? Is this good, bad, or neutral for Californian MMJ patients? What do you think the impact will be? Will this help or hinder the ability for small growers to support themselves?

Hi Mottzerella,

Maybe I can help clarify the laws on distributors...