Double Depression and Marihuana by Anonymous

Julie Gardener

Double Depression and Marihuana by Anonymous​

I am a student at the University of Iowa. I started counseling at the age of 13, but quit shortly after and, thus, was never diagnosed with anything. Two years ago, I was finally diagnosed with recurrent major depressive disorder, without full inter-episode recovery, superimposed on dysthymic disorder, (he called it "double depression," but I have never seen a medical reference to that term). I was prescribed Prozac, which worked fairly well. I had a few side effects which were relatively unpleasant, but nothing unbearable. The only real problem was that Prozac controlled the dysthymic disorder, but offered little help during an episode. My dosage was raised to cover me, but the extra coverage exacerbated the side effects.

My dosage was reduced and I was left with treated dysthmic disorder, but under-treated major depressive disorder. I had occasionally used marijuana for treatment of episodes in which I wouldn't leave my room for days, so I was familiar with the concept of using marijuana medicinally, but feared it may be bad for me, so I used it only when I was really depressed. During a research project on medical ethics, I came across the medical marihuana debate and, because of my own personal anecdotal evidence, it really hit home. After reading all of the research, I realized that it WAS a medicine and it was a viable treatment adjunct. I then started looking around for a doctor in the area to prescribe, but all that I asked said that it was unapproved and illegal.