Oil Vs Concentrate Vs Butter

daddyherb

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie here, and I'm not actually a medical cannabis user, but my wife and I are venturing down this path to treat our 7-year old daughter. I've scoured through post after post, and recipe after recipe, and I'm looking for some help.

First, a bit about my daughter. She is autistic, and also has epilepsy - with myoclonic and absent seizures. Before we started treating her, she would have upwards of 50 small seizures in a single day. We aren't sure what causes the biggest impact on her learning/ developmental delays - her autism or her seizures... She is non-verbal, and very delayed in several areas of her development, mostly communication, and self-care.

Now, on to the medical cannabis questions. We were given an opportunity to participate in a CBD trial at a local Children's Hospital for about a year, and my daughter was Seizure Free after a year on lab-developed CBD oil. Unfortunately, that study ended, and we were left high-and-dry by big pharma. Gotta love it. We navigated through all the red-tape, and finally got our medical marijuana cards about two months ago in our state (New Jersey), so we are now trying to sort through what dosing/ strains, etc work best, and it's ALOT of information to sort through.

For the first month, the girl at the dispensary gave me two strains to try. An extract with a 10:1 ration of THC:CBD CO2 Extraction (Oil Concentrate). We dosed this initially at a grain of rice size dose, and all she wanted to do was sleep (think this was an Indica strain). We eventually watered down the concentrate with some MCT oil, and cut the dose around 1/2, and it seemed to settle down her sleepiness a bit, but she was very spacey (inattentive in her therapy sessions).