Making biochar!

Timmo

I just made a great big batch of biochar. I haven't learned how to use it yet, but it was kind of fun to make, so I thought I'd share some pics.

IMG_150925.jpg

We had a willow tree fall down this winter, so I cut up a bunch of the branches and twigs and put them in a room with a dehumidifier.

IMG_161820.jpg

When they were all bone dry, I loaded them into my pyrolyzer (an old hot water heater tank).

IMG_161929.jpg

IMG_162025.jpg

I've never done this before, so I used a bunch of different sizes to see how they'd come out.

IMG_162126.jpg

Closed 'er up.

IMG_162222.jpg

Buried it in the middle of the burn pile I've been amassing for the last two years.

IMG_162728.jpg

Many hours later...

IMG_162822.jpg

The finished product (the next day).

IMG_163223.jpg

Everything looked exactly the same as when I put it in, only smaller and black.

IMG_163027.jpg

The burn pile itself also yielded a lot of biochar. There's at least another full garbage can's worth waiting for me to shovel it up.

IMG_163325.jpg

Grinding it up with a makeshift mortar and pestle. The twigs grind up instantly. The bigger chunks take a little more work, but it's not super hard. Powdering it exposes the most surface area, but I think I'll leave some chunky for aeration and use it in place of perlite in a future batch of soil.

Next time I do this, I think I'll separate the branches by size and do different batches. Twigs have the advantage of drying out very quickly and they can really be packed into the tank. I assume that charring them by themselves would also be faster.

IMG_163425.jpg

Voila.

Very nice showcase, I use bamboo biochar myself, which I later mix into soil.

You'd have to read the studies.

I don't want to look stupid but what is biochar
anyway? Isn't that what perlite and vermiculite
are? I have downed willows, I think I'm going to make a bunch of mulch with it...