Start watering pots before planting seeds?

SmokeyBear88

This is my first real organic grow. Should I water the pots a week or two before planting the seeds? Im using 3 gal fabric bags and auto seeds. I bought worm castings, coco coir, azomite, alfalfa, rice hulls and fish bone meal. I will buy a few other things like great white.

I am not a dirt farmer but have read hundreds of dirt farmer's threads.

Have you mixed all those parts together and let them "cook"?

Real dirt farmers bake their mix for a a few weeks/months to give the micro-herd time to convert the organics into the salts that plants need to eat.

I skip all that stuff and feed my plants the salts they need out of a few bottles.

Dirt farming is for folks who are good at it and I am not.

I'm going back to DWC for the bulk of my growing but will always have my moms and clones in something resembling dirt.

Good luck!

Ive been growing with bottled nutes for about 10 years. Its time for me to change it up. Im still waiting for all the stuff to come in the mail. I havent mixed anything yet. I dont want to let it sit too long or not long enough.

Ive been growing with bottled nutes for about 10 years. Its time for me to change it up. Im still waiting for all the stuff to come in the mail. I havent mixed anything yet. I dont want to let it sit too long or not long enough.

Mix everything together.... BTW list your complete ingredients I can help make a few suggestions.

Anyway the way I do it is mix everything together and put into large totes and water and put a lid on it and let it sit for a few weeks minimum.

Alfalfa needs to compost some as does most of the ingredients.... doens't take long. Then do an ACT = areated compost tea...

ACT - cup of worm castings and 1/2 cup of kelp meal.... into filtered water 3 gallons or so....bubble/aerate overnight 24 hrs and water your soil....this can be done after the plants get going say at 2nd week after seedling pops.