My First No-Till Soil - Feedback - Advice - Please

HazePhase

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time and a few people have given me guidance and I have done some reading and I should have what I need for a water only garden in which I can start 7 days after mixing roughly -- here we go:

20 gallons perlite
20 gallon peat moss
10 gallons EWC
10 gallons Compost -- still need to find a good one (in Canada)

then 4 cups of each:
- organic neem / karanja
- kelp meal
- alfalfa Meal
- crab Meal

32 cups of Rock dust:
-------- 22 cups of glacier rock
--------5 cups of bentonite ------is there anything else I can replace this with - told it would clump
------- 5 cups of oyster shell

Or I could go with this blend for Rock Dust - 32 cups but more expensive:

Rock blend — Basalt, Carbontite, Oyster, Soft rock and Woolastonite $51/ 10 lbs

Please give me feedback as I want to ensure I am on the right track.
I was told to wet this and mix it and let it sit for a week and then top with 2" of EWC and good to go.

Feedback please :)

If you have worm castings you don't need compost as THIS IS compost, so either one but not both. Kelp is unnecessary it also raise potassium too much. Otherwise I'd say you have a pretty good starting mix. Just remember that less is more with cannabis.

I like the recipe... it's Coots style pretty much 100% and what I use to grow.

Conradino, regarding kelp meal and P. There's nothing else in that mix that has much P in it at all so I use the kelp meal. It's got a lot of micro nutrients along with Cytokinins, Indoles, Hormones, Auxins, Gibberellins and Alginic Acid.

There's a particular Kelp we like to use called Ascophyllum nodosom. Its native to the east cost USA and is harvested specifically for organic farming.

Ascophyllum nodosom is also harvested in the EU - England and the countries in the North Sea areas... it grows in cold water.