My first photo period plant - White Widow - Inside/outside grow

I am brand new to growing cannabis but not to gardening. I grow tomatoes and peppers each year in a small raised garden. This year I decided to give it a go and see if I could grow a couple cannabis plants. I have a couple friends my age (61+) who have been smoking since we were teenagers. One of them I knew grew some plants each year and hit him up for some seeds. He sent me 4 seeds in a tiny zip-loc baggie. A short note said they were automatic plants and the strains were either Early Miss or Trainwreck.

My wife purchased for me a 2' x 2' x 48" tall grow tent and an LED light fixture to go with it. I started the seeds in 3 gallon pots after soaking them for 14 hours in water. All four broke the surface within three days of one another. One did not look right from the start and it passed away on day 11. The other three just sat there with 2 round leaves and 2 permanent leaves for nearly two weeks. FINALLY they started to grow. The bad part was in doing my research I read where the light is supposed to be as close to the plant as possible without burning the leaves. So that's how I had my tent set up. I failed to realize that this is for when a plant is flowering. So although my three plants were growing, they were growing wider but not getting taller. My first four nodes combined were no higher then an inch.