Suggestions? Help?

Shagy

Hey, I'm super new to this so I have some questions and a requested for suggestions from you experienced folks. A little back ground here: this is my first attempt at growing. I got some random seeds from a friend (strain unknown) did some research and then just kinda went for it, I set up one seed to germinate with no luck so I started two more and one of them broke the shell and started growing pretty fast the second took a couple of weeks to start (not the best germinating condition). I potted the first one and let it grow (left one in the pictures) until the second node when i was getting proper fan leaves and then topped it, I've topped it once more since. The second one (right in the pictures) I haven't done anything to it yet as I was gunna try to let it grow to the 4th node before i started training it.

set up:
size) 3ft by 3ft box thats 5 ft tall.
lighting) 4 cfl 23w-actual bulbs that are 6500k 1500 lumens per bulb (for veg i have other bulbs for flower)
cycle is 18/6 and the plant pots are 7 gallons.
unfortunately I use a time release fertilizer thats 18-4-8 (also have other fertilizer for flower)
theres two different fans running, one for airflow and one to cycle air.

Question time:

1) my set up is built with the assumption that ill get both plants to be about 4ft tall is this possible with my pot size and light set up or is that a foolhardy thought?

1) the plant on the left has some weird discolouration on the tips of some of the leaves it seems to be only on a certain level of the plant, is it worth trimming the brown off the leaves or anything like that?

2)the new growth coming out of the top of the left plant is a very bright green and seems kinda dwarfed, is this a result of me topping it? or something else i should be worried about?

Suggestions:?

Does anyone have any suggestions about how I could improve my set up? keeping in mind i'm on a university student budget :laughtwo: