Pineapple Chunk Deficiency - Soil Grow

egger

420 Member
Hello all.

I'm still pretty new to growing, so would really appreciate some advice with regards to my pineapple chunk plant which is in late veg.

About four or five weeks ago, I had some issues which I thought were a magnesium deficiency or lockout (interveinal yellowing from leaf tip towards the stalk — and generally all over the plant, not localized). I felt like the plant was a somewhat stunted, and foliar spraying with epsom salts made little or no difference. Our water out of the tap is around 400ppm, with Ph of 8, which I would adjust to between 6 and 6.5 for all waterings. About three weeks ago, after some research, I decided to purchase a R/O system and I flushed the plant.

The plant responded well, and started growing nicely. I have since watered with compost teas, liquid kelp, plain calmag'd water and yesterday with an Alfalfa SST. Ive also added humic acid to two waterings. She gets about a gallon of the above every three or0 four days. All waterings and feedings include 1tsp per gallon of GH Calimagic in the R/O water Ph'd at 6.0 to 6.2. I decided to Ph quite low because of some funky run-off readings. I still do not understand them — please see bullets below.

Last week, some yellowing returned. The leaves are getting two toned, look pillowed, have some minor canoeing and feel a little dry. Some brown spots that look like a burn also appear in places. New growth is generally green

I was also hoping to flip to flower in a couple of weeks, and have scratched a little Dr Earth bloom feed into the pot for some P and K. I doubt this has anything to do with the problem, however, I'm reluctant to flip until I can resolve this issue.

Many thanks in advance!

Here's some info and a few images.
- Plant is pineapple chunk by Barneys Farms. About 28" diameter — thick branches and very leafy.
- 3x3 tent with COB LED's 18"+ above canopy. 18/6 schedule. Running around 150-200W in veg