How long will a mother last?

Dariusdrone

Years ago, I had one mother that supplied all my clones and I kept her going for about 3 years. Her stem got thick and woody, but she kept on pumping out clones.

My questions:

Will the clones continue to be as good, even though mama is getting older?

Would I be better off letting one of the clones become the new mother plant after a period of time?

Thanks for your ongoing help, folks...

You are going to get a LOT of different opinions on that question. And, funny ... they'll probly all be right.
It depends on SO many variables.
Has the plant ever been sick? ever had mites? PM?
What is its genetics? Sativa?

Just like mammals, these girls are individuals.

It would be like asking, "How old is too old for a human female to have children?"

I clone for a living. Am busting my ass right now .. season is just beginning too. I notice that young moms have a higher percentage of rooting. I will grow a new mom at least every season, and sometimes in mid season I will grow a new one and donate the older hen for flowering.

Interesting to hear what others think ...

~ Auggie ~

oldest mother i have ever had would be around 6-8 years. more than i can count around 2-4 years. most i use for about a year though. i love what auggie said :) a lot of different answers and all may apply. in my case.. i usually use a clone from the mother to start a new mother. i've read a lot about senescence with plants but have only seen it first hand with maybe two or three strains in over 20 years. otherwise my clones stay the same through the whole life of the mother. the only rooting time difference i really ever see is the difference between strains. my widow is three weeks like clock work, but most of my other strains are two weeks to root.

good topic :) looking forward to more opinions :Namaste:

Thanks Auggie.. do you mean you grow a new mother from seed, or clone from your original mama and grow her into a new mother?