Light and Gas problems?

TheCrimsonQueen

Heya all!

I started a grow process about 2 months ago and I used a crawlspace in my house upstairs. I used a few plant/aquarium lights from wally-world and a hell-of-a-lot of tin foil to keep as much light on the plants as possible. I wrapped the crawlspace with a plastic tarp before the foil to keep moisture and heat in. I started my plants in little paper towels and then put them on those little jiffy pot things and then eventually moved them to little pots. I used regular 89 cent potting soil for my babies and a fertilizer from wal-mart ("Deep Feeding" 15-30-15, water soluble). I put a little office fan on my plants and watered them when it looked like the soil was dry. I did not have any gas tanks whatsoever.

The process failed and the plants never grew more than 6 inches in height with nothing more than the two main growth leaves and two little ones in the middle of the fork popping out a little. :(

I'm a newbie to growing, but I have a few ideas that I would like to pose as questions. Any, and I mean any help is deeply appreciated.

1: If the tin foil is too bent up or crinkled, will it affect the plants that I am growing?

2: Is it absolutly a need to have a CO2 tank for my indoor growth?

3: How much is the correct amount of water to give my little children?

4: How much light and space do I need to have a nice little garden-o'-goodness for one or two people?

5: What is the best (and least expensive, I managed to do all of the above on a budget of 14 bucks) fertilizer to give my babies when they are really just small.

6: Is there anything else that anybody can see that I did wrong and need to fix?

I snagged a bunch of seeds and am wanting to start having kids again (After I lost all my babies I went through a deep depression, just as any would-be mother would :( ) I need as many tips as I can pick up! Info on Growboxes would be nice too if anybody has any...